• HOORAH

    Proud Army Brat

    20 Plus years of my life

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Best way is to comment...
  • Current Thoughts

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

St. Nicholas Day

Alright…alright it is a day late (or by now two) but still….trust me you do not want me blogging yesterday!
December 6th was one of my favorite holidays…feast days! It has brought me much joy for many years.

Let me give you some history….both came from the St. Nicholas Center

Where St. Nicholas is prominent, his day, not Christmas, is the primary gift giving day. Parties may be held on the eve, December 5th, and shoes or stockings left for St. Nicholas to fill during the night. Children will find treats of small gifts, fruit or nuts, and special Nicholas candies and cookies. St. Nicholas gifts are meant to be shared, not hoarded for oneself.

As much as you want to not share them…even the ones that you can not seem to think of how you are going to share. You never know what could come up!

Ruprecht or Knecht Ruprecht is St. Nicholas’ most familiar attendant in Germany. He is a servant and helper whose face is sooty from going down chimneys leaving children’s treats. He carries the sack of presents and a rod for disobedient children. “Just wait until Ruprecht comes” is still a common threat in German homes.

Let me tell ya’ll that is a pretty effective threat!!

Every year….even now that I am at college I get a St. Nicholas gift. Some times it is a book, music, or even candy. This year it was a black Pashmina shawl. I also own a purple one, which I recently began to wear! So this one came right at the perfect time.

But Gifts are not the only reason that I enjoy this feast day so much. As a Catholic I try to watch out for feast days….granted there are quite a few; even sometimes more than one in a day. Therefore the Church of course has the ones that they want us to be at….Holy Days of Obligation! But I have a few that I like to take the time and say extra prayers as well as read extra passages from the bible on. December 6th is one of them.

Leave a Reply

