National Basilica

On December 28, I enjoyed a trip to the National Basilica with my mom and her college friend! I had never been to the Basilica (ok…saw the outside while visiting Catholic U. during my college tours). Let me tell you that it is¬†absolutely¬†GORGEOUS¬†but huge!! We did the self-guided tour, went to mass, and then ate a fantastic lunch (soup,¬†sandwich, green tea, and yummy desert). We also shopped both at the gift shop and the bookstore. I got a book, The Power of Pause: Becoming More by Doing Less by Terry Hershey. A book that I really need in my materialistic, overfilled, and unbalanced life. I am looking forward to reading it and seeing what it does for my life (keep an eye out for that story/post(s))

Onto Mass: we entered the crypt chapel during Adoration. (YES!!! LOVE IT) I went to my first Eucharistic Adoration on December 28, 2006 (3 YRS) and rarely get to go (maybe a goal for 2010).

We said the Divine Praises…(something I had never done)

Blessed be God.
Blessed be His Holy Name.
Blessed be Jesus Christ, true God and true man.
Blessed be the name of Jesus.
Blessed be His Most Sacred Heart.
Blessed be Jesus in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Altar.
Blessed be the Holy Spirit, the paraclete.
Blessed be the great Mother of God, Mary most holy.
Blessed be her holy and Immaculate Conception.
Blessed be her glorious Assumption.
Blessed be the name of Mary, Virgin and Mother.
Blessed be Saint Joseph, her most chaste spouse.
Blessed be God in His angels and in His Saints.

May the heart of Jesus, in the Most Blessed Sacrament, be praised, adored, and loved with grateful affection, at every moment, in all the tabernacles of the world, even to the end of time. Amen.

Then Mass began, I have to say that I have been to many lovely masses (including daily mass) and heard some fantastic homilies but this one was special for a couple reasons: 1) it was at the Basilica, 2) the homily was simple and a great reminder about why the Church spreads the celebration of Christmas out for so long (12 days; until Jan 6th); and 3) the crypt chapel is simple but beautiful!!!

Gloria, Hallelujah, and AMEN

Leave a Reply

