Blessed Epiphany!

While Liturgically, the Mass that celebrated Epiphany was held on Sunday the 3rd…today we find ourselves at end of the the Christmas Season; the end of the twelve days of Christmas.  For the first time as adult Catholic, I thought about what those 12 days really mean. As for my conclusion…To be honest I got distracted and wrapped up in the materialistic side of the holidays and the World.

The Song The Twelve Days of Christmas, which has been said to be a mnemonic device to teach the catechism to youngsters.

On the first day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
A partridge in a pear tree
Jesus Christ
On the second day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Two turtle doves
The Old and New Testament
On the third day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Three French hens,
The Theological Values: Faith, Hope, and Charity (or Love)
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Four calling birds,

The Four Gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Five golden rings,
The first five books of the Old Testament: The Pentateuch:  Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy: These makes up man’s fall from GRACE
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Six geese a-laying,
Six days of Creation
On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Seven swans a-swimming,
The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit ( prophecy, ministry, teaching, exhortation, giving, leading, compassion) /the seven Sacraments

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Eight maids a-milking,
The Beatitudes: Blessed are the poor in spirit; those who mourn; the meek; those who hunger and thirst for righteousness; the merciful; the pure in heart; the peacemakers; those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake.
On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Nine ladies dancing,
The Fruits of the Holy Spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness,
generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Ten lords a-leaping,
The Ten Commandments
On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Eleven pipers piping,
The Faithful Apostles: Simon Peter, Andrew, James, John, Philip, Bartholomew,  Matthew, Thomas, James bar Alphaeus, Simon the Zealot, Judas bar James
On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Twelve drummers drumming,

The  points of doctrine in the Apostles’ Creed: I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth; I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord; He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit and born of the virgin Mary; He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into hell [the grave]; On the third day he rose again. He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of the Father; He will come again to judge the living and the dead; I believe in the Holy Spirit;  the holy atholic Church;  the communion of saints;  the forgiveness of sins;  the resurrection of the body; and life everlasting.

Much of this I need to learn and work on!!! Thanks to our Christian siblings for the longer version of above.

So… for now I leave you with following video which asks a very good question and shall I say it reminds us that we need to but the Christ back into CHIRSTmas!!

Becky Kelley – Where’s the Line to See Jesus?

Leave a Reply

