Joshua

Every year my Oma asks me what I want for my birthday and every year I have no clue! I keep a wish list on a couple websites. Well, this year I could not make up my mind, so we decided to leave it and if I came up with something I would email her. Well, I never did and mid-November she picked two books and a movie for me.

One of those books was Joshua by Joseph F. Girzone, a retired priest.

Before I review the books and give my thoughts, I would like to say that this book can be read many ways and for many reasons: I read it for PURE enjoyment, not for a lesson in spirituality or theology!!!

This book is Jesus’s Story…at least a piece of it, written in non-biblical terms and¬†modernized. I saw it as what Jesus might experience now if he were to come minus the technology (since there was none in the story). The personality of Joshua is calming and peaceful; a person to¬†aspire¬†to be.

Now I fully understand that this story is not totally in line with the Bible. However, the concept is interesting and this is cool way to explore fiction that has a biblical basis.

Leave a Reply

