On my Honor

This song brings back memories….Fantastic ones… It is one of my favorite slow GS songs.

To use a piece of an essay I wrote a while ago:

It had always been my dream to sing “On My Honor” at a bridging ceremony. “On My Honor” is not a very popular song to sing in Girl Scouts because although it is a beautiful song, that makes people cry, it is a slow song and the faster, more upbeat song are more popular and typically more likely to be song at Girl Scout functions. I got that chance twice in my Girl Scout career. The year that I earned my Silver Award was the first time that I heard it sung at an actual bridging ceremony. I was surprised when the brand new Cadettes stood up after “Moosie” and I sang the moose song, and started singing “On My Honor” in honor of me and my Silver Award. The second time, I had taught the song to the bridging Juniors, so that they could sing it for their bridging ceremony. They dedicated it to me and my dedication to Girl Scouts because that weekend I had run camporee. Every time I hear “On My Honor”, it brings tears to my ears, especially these two times because not only was I touched but I felt honored and loved by my fellow Girl Scouts.

So to all of my fellow GS lifers and members….heres to you!!!

Chorus :
On my honor, I will try.
There’s a duty to be done and I say aye.
There’s a reason to be here for a reason above.
My honor is to try and my duty is to love.

People don’t need to know my name.
If I’ve done any harm, then I’m to blame.
If I’ve helped someone, then I’ve helped me.
And I’ve opened up my eyes to see.

Chorus

I’ve tucked away a song or two.
If you’re feeling low, there’s one for you.
If you need a friend, then I will come.
And there’s many mmore where I come from.

Chorus

Friendship is the strangest thing
if you keep it to yourself, no reward will bring
but you gave it away, you gave it to me
and from now on great friends we’ll be

Chorus

Come with me where the fire burns bright,
We can even see better by the candle’s light.
And we’ll find moremeaning in a campfire’s glod,
Than we’ve ever found in a year or so.

Chorus

We’ve a promise to always keep.
And to pray “Softley Falls” before we sleep.
We are Girl Scouts together and when we’re gone,
We’ll still be trying and singing this song.

Chorus

Leave a Reply

