Top two commandments!

I will let you read the whole thing at Bob Rice’s Blog.

“We always have to realize that the first commandment is the first commandment for a reason,” he said. “When we put the second commandment first, we often put the first commandment at around twelve or thirteen.”

At first I thought he was talking about not taking the Lord’s name in vain, but then I realized he meant the two greatest commandments: 1) Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength, and 2) Love your neighbor as you love yourself.

“And then what happens,” he continued, “we only focus on the first commandment so that we can be more effective with the second, which is still out of order. Our ministry increases but our heart shrivels away, and all we offer in ministry is a bunch of canned goods.”

The above portion is what hit home the most. I may not be in Youth Minsitry (yet….but that is another story) but I definitely get to the point where I put the first commandment comes first only to help the second or just gets forgotten in the day to day stuff.

I seem to forget that God exists except when I need him. Okay so that is a little extreme but it is the basics of what I do. I go through these periods of pray and then no prayer. I mean I understand that life is ever changing but seriously why can’t  I be consistent? Why cannot I continually remember him…for more than the “Dear God…I need/want” times.

If I could only find the peace I see in the eyes of my priests and religious!!!!  I want to live an open and faithful life. I want to be all that I can be. I want to be at peace with every decision that I make.

So I guess it back to ME and GOD time….if only I truly had the time… not an excuse I know but the one I typically use.

Leave a Reply

